Do it for the turkey.

November 16, 2009

Every year, I arrive at my aunt’s ramshackle farmhouse in my holiday best–suede boots, tights and a dress, or perhaps a classic cable knit–only to find that my tens of cousins and their hundreds of children have chosen to celebrate Thanksgiving in their pajamas.  Even though I know there is no one to impress (we’re all forced to be together, anyway), I thought the point of a holiday or a special occasion is that they aren’t like every other day.  So why then is everyone still dressing like a schlumpadink?  If you don’t dress up for me or those mysterious pilgrims, at least put on a show for those toiling aunties and their picture-perfect pumpkin pies.

Leave a Reply

